Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

FY 2019 Advancing the Use of Technology to Assist Victims of Crime

Grants to USA Nonprofits to Use Technology
to Improve Services for Crime Victims

Agency Type:


Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

U.S. Department of Justice (DOJ), Office of Justice Programs (OJP), Office for Victims of Crime (OVC)

Deadline Date:

06/25/19 11:59 PM ET


Request a Grant Writer

Grants to USA nonprofit organizations to enhance, create, or expand technology initiatives that improve access to services for victims of crime. Required registrations may take several weeks to complete. Funding is intended to support initiatives that are national in scope, or regional initiatives with the potential for being replicated nationally.

Through this program, OVC will support national-scope initiatives and regional initiatives (that can be replicated nationally) to maximize the use of technology to improve and increase access to crime victim services. To support organizations in developing and providing an innovative technology-facilitated resource or service, OVC is expanding its strategy to allow for projects that may be regional initially but have potential to be replicated nationally. However, OVC will give priority to proposals that have a national scope, as those projects may have the potential to serve more victims, but an exceptional proposal that is initially regional in scope could certainly be competitive.

Through this solicitation, OVC seeks to support organizations that demonstrate innovative strategies to create, expand, or enhance use of technology initiatives to improve response, services, and access for victims of crime. OVC will support projects across a variety of technology platforms. These could include, but are not limited to:

1) Development of new national app(s) or creation of another technology platform designed to serve victims of crime, including updating and maintenance for the length of the award.

2) Development of regionally focused app(s) or creation of another technology platform designed to serve victims of crime.

3) Expansion or enhancement of existing services and/or hotlines on digital, online, or text platforms or an app that uses technology to provide services, referrals, tools, and information to victims of crime.

Funding under this initiative may support technology development and maintenance; the staff required to operate, update, and maintain the proposed platform or service; training and technical assistance on the purpose and use of the technology (including outreach and publicity activities); and staff engaged in coalition-building activities regarding the use of technology.

Program activities could include, but are not limited to: work to facilitate and support the use and improvement of technology to serve victims of crime; provision or facilitation of access to services, including referrals, information, and tools to victims of crime where local or accessible services do not exist or are insufficient; etc.

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 181668

Estimated Total Program Funding:


Number of Grants:

OVC expects to make up to 7 awards.

Estimated Size of Grant:

$500,000 to $2 million

Term of Contract:

OVC expects to make awards for a 24-month period of performance, to begin on October 1, 2019.

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

Eligible applicants are limited to nonprofit organizations (including tribal nonprofits) with the financial and administrative capacity to manage a federal award funding for a national-scope project serving crime victims within the United States.

Applicants must demonstrate a unique capability and strong desire to reach and serve victims of crime through a project that is national in scope.

A private nonprofit organization does not have to have 501(c)(3) status to apply for grant funding under this solicitation.

Applicants are permitted to submit proposals (each with a separate application) for multiple projects under this solicitation. OVC welcomes applications under which two or more entities would carry out the federal award; however, only one entity may be the applicant. Any others must be proposed as subrecipient(s) (“subgrantees"). The applicant must be the entity that would have primary responsibility for carrying out the award, including administering the funding and managing the entire program.

Pre-Application Information:

Applicants must register with at prior to submitting an application. All applications are due by 11:59 p.m. eastern time on June 25, 2019.

Registering with is a one-time process; however, processing delays may occur, and it can take several weeks for first-time registrants to receive confirmation of registration and a user password. OJP encourages applicants to register several weeks before the application submission deadline. In addition, OJP urges applicants to submit applications at least 72 hours prior to the application due date.

Every applicant entity must comply with all applicable System for Award Management (SAM) and unique entity identifier (currently, a Data Universal Numbering System (DUNS) number) requirements.

View this opportunity on

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Response Center:
Toll free: 800–851–3420
TTY: 301–240–6310 (hearing impaired only)
Fax: 301–240–5830
Web chat:

CFDA Number:


Funding or Pin Number:


URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming